“Fistula First” Keeps Life-saving Options Open!

By Linda G., M.D. — Guest Blogger Check Out Recent CDC Recommendations on Reducing Infections The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) announced in May 2013 results from a multi-center study on prevention of bloodstream infections in dialysis patients. The problem is enormous: during the study, 37,000 infections occurred in dialysis patients with central […]

Meshia’s Hope – May 2013

By Meshia A., DPC Patient Ambassador and Guest Blogger Hello DPC Family! I hope this message finds you all well. Although temperatures are getting warmer I can think of one place that always seems to be a bit chilly. If you have ever been on hemodialysis then you know exactly what I mean. Yes, I […]

Are You Cut Out to Do Home Dialysis?

By Dr. Linda G., Guest Blogger Hi my name is Dr. Linda Gromko and I am a Seattle family practice physician who assisted my husband Steve Williams with both hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis for three-and-a-half years before his death in April 2011. In coordination with interior designer Jane C. McClure, I wrote Arranging Your Life […]

Patient Education Webinar/Call Tomorrow March 26th at 2:00 pm ET!

By Tony B., Director of Research and Information Our next quarterly Patient Education Webinar/Call is tomorrow at 2:00pm ET (11:00 AM Pacific, 12:00 PM Mountain, 1:00 PM Central). To join the webinar: 1. Go to http://tinyurl.com/DPCEdCall 2. Enter your contact information and if prompted enter the password “education” (all lowercase). Click “Join Now”. To join […]

Arranging Your Life When Dialysis Comes Home-February

By Linda G, Guest Blogger Hi my name is Linda Gromko and I am a a Seattle family practice physician who served as my husband’s Care Partner in both home hemodialysis and home peritoneal dialysis for several years before his death in 2011. I am a strong advocate of home dialysis, and I have co-authored […]