Meshia’s Hope – May 2013

By Meshia A., DPC Patient Ambassador and Guest Blogger

Meshia Blog Cover

Hello DPC Family! I hope this message finds you all well.

Although temperatures are getting warmer I can think of one place that always seems to be a bit chilly. If you have ever been on hemodialysis then you know exactly what I mean. Yes, I am talking about the dialysis center.

There are many reasons why chronic kidney disease patients may feel cold after dialysis. It could be sitting under the air vent for hours, not enough clothing or one’s physical or medical condition.

At times the cold temperatures inside a dialysis center can be a stark contrast to the warmer weather outside. When I first started hemodialysis, I used to dress according to the warm weather. I soon found out that this was not going to work for me, as I always stayed cold. So my new best friend became a lovely blanket one of my friends made for me.

Meshia Blog Quilts

My experience is part of what led me to look into getting quilts donated to dialysis patients. My organization Meshia’s Hope, recently received a donation of quilts made by local quilters to be given to dialysis patients. I had the opportunity to volunteer with several quilters to learn the process of making a quilt. This community quilt day was full of love and dedication and it was amazing to see so many people willing to help others. I owe a special thanks to Greenwich Presbyterian Church for their generosity and personally delivering the quilts to me.

I had the pleasure of donating quilts to my old dialysis center, Renal Care Partners in Woodbridge VA. What better way to help a new or existing patient by keeping them comfortable during their treatment? I spoke to the director of the center and she was thrilled to accept the donation. When you are a kidney patient and are able to give back to the kidney community, it feels amazing. It was an added plus to surprise the people who took care of me while on dialysis.

There have been so many people that I have met along my journey who took the time to encourage me, cook for me, take me to dialysis when I couldn’t drive, and showed me a lot of love. I look forward to visiting other dialysis centers in the future. I’m hoping my future visits will include educational opportunities for patients to play a more collaborative role in their care.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.

Comments

  1. Hello! My name is Robin and I just celebrated a one year anniversary as a dialysis patient. I had the same experience, and I had asked for a spare blanket but was told there were none, and I lied there and shivered for hours, and I learned how to layer. I got a sewing group involved, and some blankets were made for my center. At first, they said they couldn’t accept used blankets because of infectious disease control rules. So, I hooked up with (pardon the pun) a group that crocheted blankets (we had quilts coming), and then, while I was training for home hemo, I received a voice message from the administrator of the clinic advising me to pick up the blankets we had donated or they would be sent to goodwill. This was at the NW Kidney Center in Washington State. She said they did not have the patient funds to dry clean the blankets, even though they were hand made. I am very heartbroken about this and not sure how to proceed, but plan to pursue it more, as the people who made them with love and the patients both deserve them to be used for dialsis patients. The aim was for each patient to keep their donated blanket. I still have the blankets and am open to suggestions. I am glad your center is open to making patients more comfortable during treatment. Thanks for your wonderful story and stay warm!

    • Hello Robin congrats on your 1 year anniversary! I consider ALL of my kidney family extra-ordinary people! I am glad to hear about your compassion and willingness to help fellow patients. I am sorry to hear about your challenges. I do know that the quilts that were donated to me were washed after being made as that is part of the process with the church I work with. I know their is a need for blankets for dialysis patients. Don’t give up trying. I have learned to use my “no’s” as opportunities. When you get your “yes” please let me know. I believe that when you put your heart into something the right door will open at the right time. Thank you for your comment and taking the time to read my blog. Good luck!

  2. Meshia, that was such a nice blog entry to read! Love the idea about the quilts for patients. You have such a good heart and you have the joy in your heart to share. It’s a wonderful combination. Regarding the quilt/blanket issue, couldn’t patients be given a quilt and just bring it with them for their treatment and take it home for washing? We were allowed to do that when I was on dialysis, but maybe things have changed.
    Wishing you much success with your blog and future projects!
    All the Best, Myra

    • Hi Myra! Good to hear from you. I was thinking the same thing too. Robin, do you know if any of your area centers would allow for patients who want a blanket to be personally responsible for washing them? I would love to see all of her good works be put to good use.
      Thanks again Myra 🙂

  3. Robin F says:

    Thanks so much Meshia and you are so right. I do plan to keep on trying until they find a happy home in the lap of a dialysis patient. It’s amazing how welcoming a warm blanket can be in the middle of dialysis.One small kind act, one big huge reward. Keep up the great work!

  4. Good attitude Robin! You also keep up the great work. My like-minded kidney patients help to inspire me 🙂

  5. hey there, i liked you blog, it is kinda good. keep up the work. rastreadores bbom rastreadores bbom rastreadores bbom rastreadores bbom rastreadores bbom

Leave a Reply

