Meshia’s Hope – January 2013

By Meshia A., DPC Patient Ambassador

Meshia

Hello my name is Meshia Adams and I am so excited to be a new member of the prestigious Patient Ambassador Program at Dialysis Patient Citizens and for the opportunity to contribute to this blog. I made this request because I have personally been dealing with Chronic Kidney Disease for over 18 years. I have been on both peritoneal and hemodialysis. I had my first kidney transplant in March of 1995 and on July 6, 2012 received a second transplant. This time around it was from a living donor; I did not imagine it would be coming from my husband. We are truly now a part of each other and everyday realize how blessed we are.

As kidney patients, we go through so many things and have to rely on others to help support us. At times the physical and emotional stress of just getting through the day can take its toll on an individual. It is because of this I feel that, we need to be our best advocate and be actively involved in our own care. Over the years I have been truly fortunate to have compassionate and professional care givers and support from family and friends during my time of sickness. However, I have also had negative experiences, without the knowledge and the courage to speak for myself I would not have been able to avoid close encounters of my safety being compromised. I now have the opportunity to speak up and speak out, not just on my behalf but for others like me to create a positive impact on educating others about kidney disease in the community.

This has led me to start my own organization, Meshia’s Hope to provide educational, emotional, financial and spiritual support to pre-dialysis, dialysis, and transplant patients living with CKD. Meshia’s Hope is committed to helping persons with CKD by offering resources and raising funds to promote awareness of kidney disease and organ donation in an effort to alleviate the challenges this disease brings.

Being an active patient with kidney disease can have its challenges. Even after having a transplant and not having to go to dialysis there are obstacles that I have faced. I recently experienced an increase in my creatinine and had to be hospitalized a few days. I think I was more upset that I had tickets to an event and had to miss it instead of having to have a biopsy. Thankfully, I am okay. As someone who is on the go and likes to remain active, I have realized life has a way of slowing you down. Fortunately, I have not let the fact that I have kidney disease get in the way of what I want to do or accomplish. Since having my transplant I have been able to do more and have become more active. Not only in my care but also getting involved to help others who are like me and live with CKD. I am a member of the health ministry in my church and we recently helped screen 77 people for kidney disease this past November with the NKF’s KEEP Program. I continue to find the balance of taking care of my health and working towards my goal of helping others by starting my non-profit organization.

There is a lot of work involved in starting a non-profit organization. I am currently in the planning stages of Meshia’s Hope. Each day I commit to do something to help further my business whether it is research, educating others or attending a class about non-profit organizations. I’m fortunate to be at a point where I can devote the time it takes to get things started. I am learning quickly that not everyone is willing to share their time or successes with you in this process. One of the challenges that I have faced is finding persons who are currently in the business of helping people with kidney disease to interview. My mistake has been assuming people would want to help me because I have similar interests and experiences. However, that is not the case. It can also be discouraging when I don’t get a follow up phone call or e-mail response from an inquiry. I am learning that even when someone tells you “no”, there is still a way to create a relationship or turn it into a positive experience. You cannot let the “no’s” stop you from moving forward. When you are passionate about something, you will find a way to get it done. I am slowly making progress and I invite you to continue following me on my journey in making Meshia’s Hope a success.

I look forward to playing an active role in the kidney community, keeping you updated on the progress of my organization and more importantly being an advocate for DPC. I believe that once you are a kidney patient you will always be a kidney patient regardless if you are on a form of RRT or have had a transplant. I will be updating my blog every few months about remaining active as a patient and the as well as updating you on the progress of my organization. I thank you in advance for taking the time to read my blog and invite you to be an active participant on my journey.

Comments

  1. sagebauer says:

    Meshia- It was fantastic to be welcomed back to work after the holidays to such an inspirational post- Thanks!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my welcome blog. I look forward to future posts and your comments and support. 🙂

  2. Monique Outerbridge says:

    Great article! Looking forward to learning more and following your blog

  3. lavell lucas says:

    Truly inspirational

  4. I think the admin of this web page is really working hard
    for his web page, as here every stuff is quality based stuff.

    • Shonda,
      we truly appreciate your comment. We all work hard to produce/contribute quality work here at DPC.
      Thanks

  5. Does Meshia’s Hope have a website or facebook page that we can follow the progress of what you’re doing? I would like to keep tabs on it and share it with people from time to time.

    • Hi Holly,
      The website is being worked on as I am typing this reply 🙂 I appreciate your interest and will be sure to update my blog with my progress and once the site is up will share that information as well.

      Thanks

Leave a Reply

